A little wildlife

So just a little of the surrounding wildlife. Apparently the bird is a Pied Crow. (Makes sense.) The mantis. Oh, the mantis! I was sitting on my doorstep when I noticed it, and it’s huge! It was about six inches long. So cool! I’ve never seen anything like it before! The last I beleive is called a Lilac African Rollerbird. At least that’s the order I think things go in. Hopefully I’ll be able to take some better pictures of it later. I love the flora and fauna here-so different from home. Just today, I saw what are probably Lesser Blue Morpho butterflies (I went through an obsessive butterfly stage). I never thought that I would see those in person. Then there’s an orange, black and white butterfly with elongated oval wings. It flies like a falling leaf! And lastly, I found a chrysalis today, about three inches long, and it had small twigs stuck to it vertically all around it to disguise it. I’ll have to take a picture of it when I get time tomorrow. So incredible!

One thought on “A little wildlife

  1. AAAAHHHHH! the mantis is so cool!! and that other, non-crow bird. kinda jealous that you get to see all this! but happy for you too. =)

What are your thoughts?

