Wedding Travels

In the past month, I’ve had the privilege of attending the weddings of a couple close friends. Luckily for me, they were in Edmonton, Alberta and in London, England, so I just had to travel. I love traveling. It’s good for my soul-a time of rest and reflection, and of possibilities.

My friends Bob and Sarah got married in Edmonton at the end of April. I flew in the week before the wedding so that I could spend time with Sarah, and help out as much as I could. It was well worth it because I got to meet so many of Sarah’s friends and family, and Bob’s family too. It’s one of the strange things about living on a boat with people (as I had with Bob and Sarah) is that you get to know them extremely well in a short period of time. Yet they are somewhat out of context-you know all about people’s family and friends, but haven’t met them. That was certainly remedied the week before Bob and Sarah’s wedding.

Media_httpphotosaakfb_jjsaa

I had a week before I flew out for the next wedding in England. Bexi and Jarod, also friends from the Next Wave, got married near London on 9 May. Which also happens to be my birthday. There were loads of other people that I knew from the boat at this wedding, so it was a matter of frantically scrambling to try and catch up with friends in one day. I still wish that the day had been just a little bit longer. While seeing friends at a wedding is a cause for celebration, it was still a bit melancholy, knowing that I would have to head home and leave the people that I love on a different continet. Luckily, I still had one more stop before home.

Media_http3bpblogspot_mlkaf

When searching for tickets to London, I managed to find some inexpensive ones that let me fly through Florida. Some more friends from my Youth with a Mission days live there, and I got to spend a couple nights with them. My time with them was full. Precisely what I need to be ready to go home. We went kayaking and sailing and did everything that we could think of for me to get acquainted with Florida. Perfect.

Media_http2bpblogspot_lhjga

What wasn’t quite so perfect was the end of my trip. I was supposed to fly from Tampa through Houston and to Seattle, but it ended up that I got stuck in Houston for a night, due to bad weather. I really didn’t like that, but it worked out in the end. I arrived home in Seattle the next afternoon, had a good night’s sleep and was back to work the next day!

What are your thoughts?

